Activities Chapter 1 (Saville-Troike, 2006)

Questions for self-study

1) Match the following terms to their definitions:

1 (b) target language

2 (c) second language

3 (d) first language

4 (a) foreign language

 

  1. (4) has not immediate or necessary practical application, might be used later for travel or be required for school
  2. (1) the aim or goal of language learning
  3. (2) an officially or societally dominant language (not speakers’ L1) needed for education.
  4. (3) acquired during childhood

 

  1. The underlying knowledge of language is called ___linguistic competence____.

 

  1. Actual production of language is called ___linguistic performance___.

 

Active learning

1) List all of the languages that you can use. First classify them as L1(s) and L2(s), and then further classify the L2(s) as “second,” “foreign,” “library,” “auxiliary,” or “for special purposes.” Finally, distinguish between the ways you learned each of the languages: through informal exposure, formal instruction, or some combination of these.

languages-i-can-use

 

2) Do you think that you are (or would be) a “good” or a “poor” L2 learner? Why do you think so? Consider whether you believe that your own relative level of success as a language learner is due primarily to linguistic, psychological, or social factors (social may include type of instruction, contexts of learning, or attitudes toward the L1 and L2).

 

In my opinion, I am a good L2 learner because, first of all, I am willing to learn a new language and I am aware of the fact that it is completely necessary to be motivated, to have good attitude and to devote as much time as it takes for reaching a high proficiency level in the language I want to learn. Furthermore, I acknowledge the importance of receiving feedback in order to improve my L2 skills without being afraid of making mistakes because all of us make them when we are learning. I also know that it is very important to have a mixture of both formal instruction and informal exposure to the target language so that I can get a wide knowledge about the language I want to learn.

From my point of view, my own relative level of success as a language learner is due primarily to psychological and social factors as I have aptitude to learn a new language, thanks GOD, I am motivated, I like using different learning strategies and I have a good attitude towards the target language itself.

References:

Saville-Troike, M. (2006). Introducing Second Language Acquisition. New York: Cambridge University Press.

 

Deja un comentario